Super Bowl LV: Chiefs chase Championship history in Tampa

Only seven teams in history have ever successfully defended their Super Bowl crown and if Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs are to make it eight, they'll have to overcome the last quarterback to achieve this feat - Tom Brady.

Matthew Crist

The Kansas City Chiefs could become just the eighth team in history to win back-to-back titles when they face the Tampa Bay Buccaneers at Super Bowl LV on Sunday.

And in a strange twist of fate, if they are to do so,  Patrick Mahomes an co will have to overcome the last quarterback to achieve this feat some 17 years ago.

Mahomes will become the youngest quarterback to go to back-to-back Super Bowls at 25 if his Chiefs win in Tampa’s own Raymond James Stadium, but standing in his way is someone who has very much been there before.

Tom Brady will play in his 10th Super Bowl, and is the last quarterback to repeat as Super Bowl winner, winning with the New England Patriots in 2003 and 2004.

The Kansas City Chiefs won their second Super Bowl in 50 years last January and if history is anything to go by, it might be another 50 before they win another one.

That’s because not one team has repeated in the last 16 seasons, and it’s only been done twice in Patrick Mahomes’ lifetime.

Of the 32 teams in the NFL, 12 teams have never won even one Super Bowl, while seven teams have repeated as Super Bowl Champions.

The Pittsburgh Steelers are the only team to repeat as Super Bowl champs twice, and the only team with four in six seasons while the Dallas Cowboys and New England Patriots are the only teams to win three Super Bowls in four consecutive seasons.

So let’s look at the select few who have not only won the so-called “Greatest Show on Earth” but then returned 12-months later to do it all over again…

Green Bay Packers 1966 & 67

Vince Lombardi

The trophy given to the NFL champions is named after Vince Lombardi, one of the league’s legendary coaches, and the man that led the Green Bay Packers to victory in the first two Super Bowls ever to be staged.

Lombardi’s final game as Packers coach was the victory in Super Bowl II, ending an incredible nine-season career during which his teams won five NFL championships, including the aforementioned two Super Bowls.

Miami Dolphins 1972 & 73

Miami Dolphins v. Washington Redskins

To this day, the 1972 Dolphins remain the only team in NFL history to finish a season with an unbeaten record, capping off their perfect campaign with a 14-7 win over Washington in Super Bowl VII.

But Dolphins fans wouldn’t have to wait long for another championship as Maimi went 12-2 during the 1973 regular season and eased through the playoffs, winning each of its three postseason games by 17 points before defeating the Minnesota Vikings in Houston.

Pittsburgh Steelers 1974 & 75

Pittsburgh Steelers

The 1974 season would launch one of the most productive runs in the NFL’s Super Bowl era as the Steelers went on to win four championships in a six-year span.

Having gone 10-3-1 in the regular season the Steelers defeated the Vikings at Super Bowl IX in New Orleans, before repeating the feat 12-months later in Miami by beating the Dallas Cowboys.

Pittsburgh Steelers 1978 & 79

Just three years after their first Super Bowl repeat the Steelers were at it again and legendary coach Chuck Noll who ensured his team would go on to become the most successful dynasty in the history of the game.

The 1978 season was the franchise’s 46th season in the National Football League and concluded with the team beating the Dallas Cowboys to win Super Bowl XIII and become the first side ever to win three titles, before going on to make it four a year later when they overcame the LA Rams 31-19 at the Rose Bowl.

San Fransisco 49ers 1988 & 89

San Francisco NFL

Led by Joe Montana and Jerry Rice, San Francisco began its run of back-to-back titles with a narrow 20-16 win over the Cincinnati Bengals at Super XXIII.

The 49ers then successfully defended their championship with a 55-10 blowout of the Denver Broncos 12-months later, the largest margin of victory in Super Bowl history.

Dallas Cowboys 1992 & 93

Dallas Cowboys 1993

Boasting the dynamic trio of Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith, the Cowboys dismantled the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXVII by a 52-17 score to win the franchise’s first ring since the late 1970s.

Initially, it looked like their achievement might be something as a one-off at the start of the 1993 season as the Cowboys lost their two games, before cruising to another NFC East title and a 30-13 victory over the Bills to defend their title at Super Bowl XXVIII

Denver Broncos 1997 & 1998

The Denver Broncos were the first AFC team to repeat defend a Super Bowl title since the 1970s Steelers, beating the Green Bay Packers for their first title at Super Bowl XXXI in New Orleans.

At Super Bowl XXXII the Broncos beat the  Atlanta Falcons 34-19 as John Elway capped his Hall of Fame career in storybook fashion, winning the MVP award in his final game for Denver to seal a magnificent night for the organisation.

New England Patriots 2003 & 04

Bill Belichick

The Patriots established themselves as the NFL’s most recent dynasty with three Super Bowl wins in four years during the early 2000s, including back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2004.

The first in this double came by the way of a 32-29 win over the Caroliner Panthers at Super Bowl XXXVII in Houtson and Brady and Bellichick teamed up once again a year later to overcome the Philadelphia Eagles 24-21 in Jacksonville to become the most recent team to complete the repeat.

Leave a comment

Follow Matthewjcrist on Twitter